A Large Torch Carving

My next carving project is one that came on short notice, with a short deadline. It’s one that’s extra cool for me because it blends my two worlds of University Registrar and wood sculptor. I’ve been asked to carve a large version of the Torch portion of TWU’s logo.

I’ve got the measurements and the very kind folks in the Facilities and Maintenance department ordered me a full size drawing. I’m now in the process of getting the measurements for a metal frame which will have to be welded in the next day or so.

I plan to carve it in cedar, with a light semitransparent stain. It will be mounted to the metal frame and then the whole thing will be mounted to the second story facade of a building in Fort Langley.

Here’s the full size version, stuck onto my window so I can see through the paper and draw the metal frame and take measurements off of it.

2 thoughts on “A Large Torch Carving

Leave a Reply

