Carved Bread Plate 

  
The past few evenings have been spent finishing this carving. In my last post, I had glued up the cherry boards. Since then, I cut out the circle with my bandsaw circle-cutting jig that my father (the jig-master) made me decades ago.

  
Then I hand planed the surface. 

   
 
Once the circle was flattened I fell in love with the piece of wood. The lines, the tiny pin knots, and the range of rich colours that were showing up made my heart pitter-patter. 

   
   
Next I laid out the letters, which always takes longer than expected when working around a circle. The letters have to be sloped just so, spaced just so, and just a little narrower towards the inside of the circle. Then I got down to business cutting the letters. 

  
After the letters were all incised, I redrew the inside circle. Then I got after the ‘bowl’ carving.

  
Then I flipped the plate to carve the back. 

  I’ve learned from the native carvers from the west coast about the value of a simple file in wood carving. I put my file to use trueing the outside rim of the plate. 

  
Then after a little cleaning and final touch ups under a bright light and magnifying lense, all that was left was to put the finish on. 

  
After posting a picture of it on Instagram, it lasted all of a half-hour before it was snapped up by someone. I delivered it this evening in this package : 

  
Details:

  • The wood is black cherry 
  • The dimensions are 14″ in diameter by just over 1″ thick 
  • The finish is linseed oil and beeswax
  • It is sold.
4 thoughts on “Carved Bread Plate 

  1. this is beautiful Grant and well done in selling it so fast – I am not surprised!! Any classes coming up? Cheers, Danella

Leave a Reply

