Carving a Cherry Bread Plate

 

Bread Plate Plans

I came across a lovely bunch of rough cut cherry wood, which I have been on the hunt for since my last bread plate went to a good home in Fernie, BC. I have wanted to carve another similar plate, but as long-time readers of this site know, I need the perfect piece of wood before I can start. 

I went to visit my mom and while I was there I dug through dad’s old piles of lumber and found the perfect piece of cherry. 

Bread Plate Glue-Up
 
I after rough-sizing the wood and jointing the edges by hand, I glued and clamped the wood together on a flat surface. I only need one flat surface for this project as the rest will be carved away. 

Next job is to cut a circle out of this board and plane it perfectly flat. 
 

Published by

Grant McMillan

I am the University Registrar at Trinity Western University, and I've been in the profession since 1997. I have an MA in Organizational Leadership, and have made a career of going into organizations that are in very difficult situations and leading them to a much better place. I teach Leadership to budding managers in the Adult Degree Completion program at Trinity Western University. I speak and consult, with organizations. Contact me at grant.mcmillan@twu.ca

Leave a Reply

