Live Edge Coffee Table

This is normally my woodcarving blog, but I occasionally make other pieces of furniture. Most recently, I have been working on a crosscut out of an old cedar tree that my dad cut down from our yard in Hope, BC a long time ago.

Live edge coffee table scraped

This was a lovely slice of wood that was not so lovely to try to smooth out. Dad cut things with his chainsaw and left them pretty rough, so I had to take my angle grinder to this to get it basically smooth, and then a belt sander with 50 grit sandpaper, and then through a series of smoother grits. Finally I got down to hand scraping and 400 grit sandpaper.

Removing the bark wasn’t so bad because I was able to peel it of and finish it up with a flap wheel sander. Finding the legs was fun too. After researching options on the web, I walked into Napiers Antiques in Milner, a small heritage town in the Langley township area. It didn’t take long for the owner to ask me what I was looking for. When I explained it, he said, “I have EXACTLY what you want. Follow me.” He took me to a set of four hairpin legs that were EXACTLY what I was looking for.

Live edge coffee table legs

After aligning them on the underside of the table, I marked their locations with a square and a felt marker. I ensured they were level and screwed them in place.

Next, I finished it with my favourite finish – a mixture of linseed oil and beeswax. I think it turned out ok. What do you think?

 

Leave a Reply

