Horse Mane Carving

  
The horse mane carving has gone well, although I did find it challenging to work in wood where little bits just randomly spring off and fall out under the v-gouge. This happens when certain strips of wood in the parallam beam did not receive enough glue. It’s not really a problem. It means I adjust the carving slightly. I finished the mane tonight. At this point I will set the carving as it will stand and make sure the entire sculpture looks right. I’ll probably stare at it, turn it around and around, nip off bits here and there. I’ll sand it and sand it some more until I’m finally satisfied. Only then will I put the finishing coats on. 

This is the point where I get excited. 

Published by

Grant McMillan

I am the University Registrar at Trinity Western University, and I've been in the profession since 1997. I have an MA in Organizational Leadership, and have made a career of going into organizations that are in very difficult situations and leading them to a much better place. I teach Leadership to budding managers in the Adult Degree Completion program at Trinity Western University. I speak and consult, with organizations. Contact me at grant.mcmillan@twu.ca

Leave a Reply

