A Horse of Course

Horse head in progress
Horse head in progress

Now that I’ve finished carving the corbels for a client, I am able to return to a project that has been in the works for some time. The horse bust you see above is coming along. I am relatively happy with the general shape, and so am able to focus on getting the details correct. Last night I worked on the inside of the nostrils. Next I need to shape the eyes, ears and mouth. After that will come the sides of the snout, the ears and the mane on the forehead. I will be shaping the head a little better around the ears too. The very last thing I will focus on is the mane down the neck. I’ve left quite a bit of material there to make it look a little wild. This is a wild horse sculpted from some pretty wild wood, so the mane will not be tame.

The wood is a parallam beam. You can get an idea of its size from the carving bench it’s on, which is 16″ in diameter.

Horse Snout in Progress
Horse Snout in Progress
Published by

Grant McMillan

I am the University Registrar at Trinity Western University, and I've been in the profession since 1997. I have an MA in Organizational Leadership, and have made a career of going into organizations that are in very difficult situations and leading them to a much better place. I teach Leadership to budding managers in the Adult Degree Completion program at Trinity Western University. I speak and consult, with organizations. Contact me at grant.mcmillan@twu.ca

Leave a Reply

