Carved Acanthus Leaf Panels Finally Finished

The acanthus leaf panels have been stained, varnished and installed. They turned out very nice indeed, although I had nothing to do with this part of the job. The client invited me over to take some photos of the completed work, and so on Sunday afternoon Kathleen and I took the quick drive out to Silver Ridge Estates.

The client told me the story of how challenging it was to get the guy responsible for all the stained and varnished wood in his place to be brave enough to do this job, but I think he did quite well.

This is the angled panel going up the staircase.

Carved Stair Panel
Carved Stair Panel

And here are a few panels from the bottom edge of the balcony.

Balcony
Balcony
Balcony Panel 2
Balcony Panel 2
Balcony Panel 3
Balcony Panel 3

And the full finial.

Finished Finial
Finished Finial

And the half finial.

Half Finial
Half Finial

And I’ve saved the best for last – a full panorama shot of the entryway taken from the first platform of the staircase.

Panorama
Panorama

You can see from the panorama shot that the house isn’t finished yet. There are many oak panels to go all around the room. The circles in the middle of some of the walls are for sconce lights. The front doors of the main entrance are barely visible to the right of the image. They will need a large carving over them, but the final design drawings are yet to be completed. The double doors in the lower middle might still have a carving to go over them too, but I haven’t heard the final word yet. As you can tell, this room is intended to make a pretty large statement as you walk through the main entrance.

It has been a very great pleasure to work on this job with this client. He has incredibly high expectations, and there are very few contractors who have been able to meet his standards, but when they do meet them he is very supportive. I feel a deep sense of pride that he has let me be part of his vision for his estate.

Published by

Grant McMillan

I am the University Registrar at Trinity Western University, and I've been in the profession since 1997. I have an MA in Organizational Leadership, and have made a career of going into organizations that are in very difficult situations and leading them to a much better place. I teach Leadership to budding managers in the Adult Degree Completion program at Trinity Western University. I speak and consult, with organizations. Contact me at grant.mcmillan@twu.ca

Leave a Reply

