Update on Acanthus Leaf Carvings

I finished carving and sanding the first of the acanthus leaf panels and made good progress towards finishing the second one last night. People will primarily view the panels from below so I carved the leaves in such a way as to highlight the shadows all the way down the boards. This meant carving the leaves at the top of the board a little more proud than the ones nearer the bottom.

Acanthus Leaves

The client is pleased with them, especially the dramatic shadows they throw because I left the centre stems so proud and undercut the leaves. He just dropped off two more blocks to be carved. They will be even more challenging because I will have to carve mostly end grain in solid oak.

The client has his own painter who will stain and varnish these panels when they’re all completed. I’m like a kid waiting for Christmas – I can’t wait to see them!

In other news, we met Dale & Val – very good friends visiting from Saskatchewan on Tuesday, and enjoyed a fun afternoon in Crescent Beach with them. We had a good laugh at this sign:

Flower sign

Note that there were no flowers in bloom anywhere within sight!

Till next time,

Grant

 

Published by

Grant McMillan

I am the University Registrar at Trinity Western University, and I've been in the profession since 1997. I have an MA in Organizational Leadership, and have made a career of going into organizations that are in very difficult situations and leading them to a much better place. I teach Leadership to budding managers in the Adult Degree Completion program at Trinity Western University. I speak and consult, with organizations. Contact me at grant.mcmillan@twu.ca

One thought on “Update on Acanthus Leaf Carvings”

Leave a Reply

