Carving Acanthus Leaves – Many of Them!

The past few weeks, I have spent many hours in the shop carving acanthus leaves in oak. Remember the fireplace carvings I finished in the fall? That client called me again to get me to start some carvings for his front entry stairs and balcony.

I started by transferring the drawings onto the boards.

20140414-223927.jpg

20140414-224016.jpg

Then I bosted in the carvings to just above the correct depth by cutting around the outline of the leaves.

20140414-224352.jpg

20140414-224431.jpg

Most recently, I have been layering the leaves and putting “movement” into them. By “movement” I mean rises and falls, curves where leaves overlap, and varying the curves of the leaves in and out.

20140414-224949.jpg

20140414-225033.jpg

This is when the carving gets fun – when the artist in me comes to the fore, and the technical work that I spent weeks on starts to shine. Now only 7 more of these to go!

Published by

Grant McMillan

I am the University Registrar at Trinity Western University, and I've been in the profession since 1997. I have an MA in Organizational Leadership, and have made a career of going into organizations that are in very difficult situations and leading them to a much better place. I teach Leadership to budding managers in the Adult Degree Completion program at Trinity Western University. I speak and consult, with organizations. Contact me at grant.mcmillan@twu.ca

3 thoughts on “Carving Acanthus Leaves – Many of Them!”

  1. Nice work Grant. BTW, two halves of the 1 3/4″ thick carving top are ready for planing and the final glue up next Friday. Have been nibbling away at it when there’s time. Next step after it’s all one piece will be to cut out the circle and level the top and bottom surfaces in prep. for drilling the holes.

    Blessings,

    Alan Randall

  2. Hi Grant,

    It’s been a while since I did carving of this sort and you’re making me miss it a little. I have a question for you: how do you remove the bulk of the waste from the background, or “bost in the carving”?

    Chris

Leave a Reply

