Carved Fireplace Mantel Installed

It’s  been a quiet few weeks for carving as we’ve been camping and doing a mini family reunion. However, I was excited to receive a phone call this afternoon inviting me to see a couple of fireplace mantels that I had carved a while ago. They had just recently been installed in a palatial home, and the client was anxious to have me see them. Kathleen and I dropped everything and headed over to the Fort Langley home to see the mantels. The client kindly permitted me to take a picture of each mantel so you can see how they turned out.

Carved Fireplace Mantel
Fireplace Mantel in Library
Carved Fireplace Mantel in Dining Room
Dining Room Fireplace Mantel

What do you think of them? Have any questions? Leave a comment and let me know.

 

Published by

Grant McMillan

I am the University Registrar at Trinity Western University, and I've been in the profession since 1997. I have an MA in Organizational Leadership, and have made a career of going into organizations that are in very difficult situations and leading them to a much better place. I teach Leadership to budding managers in the Adult Degree Completion program at Trinity Western University. I speak and consult, with organizations. Contact me at grant.mcmillan@twu.ca

7 thoughts on “Carved Fireplace Mantel Installed”

  1. Grant,
    Thanks for posting your work. The detail is wonderful in your carving and the design truly compliments the piece. I couldn’t tell from the pictures if the carved areas are raised by stock removal or if the carving is done separately and then applied later. Either way the design and carving is beautiful.

    1. Jim,

      When I first saw your comment, I thought, “Oh my! My grade 7-8 woodworking teacher found my blog!” His name was Jim Paulson also, and he taught Jr. High shop classes in Hope, BC, Canada. He helped me create some of my first real wood working and wood carved projects, all of which I still have.

  2. These are beautiful. I am doing a bathroom vanity for my home and much, much humbler work. Did you glue on the carvings and if so, how did you deal with the excess glue?

    1. Hi Mike, yes they are glued on, but also pin-nailed. I just used glue sparingly so there was no squeeze out. If any did happen, there are ways to deal with it. If you think in advance that some might squeeze out, you can wax around the edges of the area where the carvings will be applied, pop the glue off when it’s dry and then use a wax remover. Or you can wait for the glue to dry and carefully slice it off – taking just a micro-shaving of the wood off. Or you can wipe it with a wet cloth while the glue is wet. This is the riskiest option because sometimes you just spread the glue around. Good luck, and please share some pictures of your work!

Leave a Reply

