Sacrifices and Wood Carving

No, I don’t mean cutting the head off a chicken in sacrifice to the playoff hockey gods. I’m talking about something slightly less controversial than that. In the name of caring for your clients, sometimes being a professional wood carver means giving up, sacrificing, something you’d rather do instead. I’ve been rather swamped with work recently and feeling badly because a project I’ve been working on has taken too long to finish so I had to make a choice today that I wish I didn’t have to make. It’s a gorgeous day outside – almost 30 degrees Celsius (that’s approximately 90 degrees Fahrenheit for my American friends) and it’s a Sunday – a perfect day for the beach. But instead, I’m painting some signs I carved recently.

Sign Painting

Mind you, life’s not too rough around here. I did manage to fly over to Vancouver Island with friends in their Cessna 172, a four seater plane. It was a beautiful trip!

Cessna 172
Cessna 172

Vancouver Sky

I’m fortunate enough to serve on the Board of a non-profit society – Camp Qwanoes – a camp for kids in Crofton BC. This picture above is of Vancouver, BC on the return trip from Board meetings. I was feeling pretty spoiled yesterday!

All the best,

Grant

Grant McMillan

3 thoughts on “Sacrifices and Wood Carving

Leave a Reply

