Hope Chest Build Continued

Last week I showed you some of my early progress on building a hope chest for my daughter. In that post, I said I would start carving a tall ship in a contrasting colour of wood. My daughter drew a picture of the tall she sailed on last summer, and I found an appropriate piece of American Black Walnut and got to carving.

Tall Ship Drawing
Tall Ship Drawing
Tall Ship Cutout
Tall Ship Cutout
Tall Ship Beginning
Tall Ship Beginning

My next job is to finish up the tall ship carving and then separate it from the backing plywood and prepare it to be glued onto the front of the hope chest. That will be a challenge to do without breaking it.

In other news, the sun was out in the Lower Mainland of BC this weekend. Bulbs are coming up all over the place. Soon we’ll have snowdrops, crocuses and tulips blooming. I like spring!

Published by

Grant McMillan

I am the University Registrar at Trinity Western University, and I've been in the profession since 1997. I have an MA in Organizational Leadership, and have made a career of going into organizations that are in very difficult situations and leading them to a much better place. I teach Leadership to budding managers in the Adult Degree Completion program at Trinity Western University. I speak and consult, with organizations. Contact me at grant.mcmillan@twu.ca

One thought on “Hope Chest Build Continued”

Leave a Reply

