Fruit Bowl Relief Carving Update

I’ve made some visible progress on the fruit bowl relief carving. I say “visible” because I’ve found that with high relief carvings, I have to do quite a bit of work before you can see much of a difference. In this case, I’ve roughed out the fruit and set the various depths of it. I’ve almost completed the flower drops and handle on the right, and roughed out the flower drops on the left.

My next job is to finish the flower drops and handles, clean up the fruit and back-cut it, then finish the bowl itself. It will have a band across it just under the rim, and grooves down to the stem of the base. I may do a little extra fanciness on the base too, but I’ll have to see how it will look.

Mahogany Fruit Bowl

This is the signature piece for an Adams style fireplace mantel. Adams style mantels were originally carved around the late 1800s in Europe and England, and  my clients want that look for their fireplaces. I’m quite entranced by how it’s turning out! What do you think? Have a question about it? Leave a comment.

In other news, Hallowe’en passed rather uneventfully here. It rained so hard only the hardiest of children showed up at our door and were rewarded with more candy. We ended up with extra left-over, which is just fine with me (heh heh). My son and his girlfriend demonstrated their carving prowess on a couple of pumpkins. I think they’ve done a great job!

Jack-o-lanterns

 

 

Published by

Grant McMillan

I am the University Registrar at Trinity Western University, and I've been in the profession since 1997. I have an MA in Organizational Leadership, and have made a career of going into organizations that are in very difficult situations and leading them to a much better place. I teach Leadership to budding managers in the Adult Degree Completion program at Trinity Western University. I speak and consult, with organizations. Contact me at grant.mcmillan@twu.ca

One thought on “Fruit Bowl Relief Carving Update”

Leave a Reply

