Collaborative Carving

This week’s post is about a carving that I did in collaboration with my daughter Miriah. She’s quite the artist, and I wanted to carve a mask, so I asked her to draw one that I could carve. The drawing she came up with was quite fetching, with very simple lines and an appealing look to it. With just a few minor alterations I knew it would carve up very nicely. I really enjoyed collaborating with my daughter on a project and would like to do more.  Here’s the result.

Carved Mask

About the carving:

I chose one of my favourite carving woods for this project: Birch. I chose it because it is a hardwood and strong enough for the purpose. It has almost no noticeable grain to distract from the unique lines of the carving. Left unstained, it is almost white in colour, allowing it to blend with many different backgrounds. I finished it with multiple coats of tung oil, buffed after drying. It is 8″ x 6″ x 1″, and came from a board given to my dad by Roy Corbett, cut on Roy’s own bandsaw mill.

It’s not for sale and is hanging on the wall in Miriah’s room.

Published by

Grant McMillan

I am the University Registrar at Trinity Western University, and I've been in the profession since 1997. I have an MA in Organizational Leadership, and have made a career of going into organizations that are in very difficult situations and leading them to a much better place. I teach Leadership to budding managers in the Adult Degree Completion program at Trinity Western University. I speak and consult, with organizations. Contact me at grant.mcmillan@twu.ca

2 thoughts on “Collaborative Carving”

Leave a Reply

